Bear Fruit

Bear fruit in keeping with repentance.  Luke 3:8

There comes a time when we realize that our ultimate goal as a follower of Christ is to do just that; to bear fruit.  When I heard this verse some time ago, it struck me that the fruit we bear is going to have some relationship with the things God has taught us.  We have to go through a season of sifting, before any real fruit is going to burst forth.

Shortly before the crucifixion, Jesus told Peter that the devil had asked to “sift him like wheat” and the Lord had chosen to allow it to happen to Simon Peter.  The sweet thing, though, is that Jesus quickly says, “And, Simon, when you have turned back (another word for repented) go and strengthen the others.”  (See Luke 22: 32)

You see, God allows us to be sifted when there’s something that is keeping us from being vessels fully fit for His good use.  We need His deliverance!  He’ll allow difficult circumstances to come into our lives, which bring us to a point of absolute humiliation and devastation, so that He can draw out of us all self-reliance and self-satisfaction.  He will work on our pride and any insecurity.  It’s this kind of pruning, mentioned in John chapter 15, that God does on those whom He desires bear much more fruit.

We may be cruising along pretty well in the race of faith, and we may even feel that we’re pretty effective and content, when gradually the foundation we’re setting upon begins to shake, rattle and roll.  It’s a frightening thing when your world gets rocked to the point of complete instability, but dear one, I can assure you, if you are seeking to do God’s will, this rocking is for your own good, and for the good of “the others.”

I had come to complete repentance on things I hadn’t even realized were problems for me.  I asked God to take my anger, judgmental heart, and pride; I begged Him to heal me of all insecurities and bring me through this dark season.  As He answered my prayers, over time, He granted me renewed strength and a deeper, more amazing, hope.  As I came to feel restored to joy, He began to whisper to me, DeDe, now, you must bear fruit in keeping with repentance.

At first, I had no idea what this meant.  Now, I understand.  I want to share with you just what I am learning, because I figure it’s way too great for just little old me.  Someone out there is going through a similar training season, and they need to know they’re not alone, and that they can trust God to see them through.

Maybe you need to know that there’s going to be great and beautiful and satisfying fruit on the other side of this storm.  Friend, trust me!  I know it’s true.  I have begun to see it sprouting up all around me.  It’s amazing.  It’s satisfying, and refreshing, and lately it seems there’s more and more to be enjoyed each day.  I’ve come to the point where, daily, something in my spirit says, “GLORY!  GLORY!  GLORY to GOD!  I CANNOT WAIT TO SEE WHAT YOU WILL DO!”

Jesus said, You did not choose me, but I chose you, and I appointed you to go and bear fruit – fruit that will last!  John 15:16

He’s talking about eternal fruit!!  He wants us to partner with Him in building the kingdom!  Sorry for the apparent pun, but isn’t that sweet?

Yeah.  I think so, too.  And I believe it, though I have yet to see it all come to fruition.  God has confirmed over and over for me, that there is so much more to come.   I trust Him now, more than I ever have.

God is a purposeful God.  And He has promised us that all things work for the good of those that love God – to those who are called according to His purpose.  Romans 8:28  Friend, you are called.  If you are seeking after Him, it’s because He has sought you!  He has stirred you!  He has drawn You.  You are chosen, redeemed, beloved, adopted, and predestined to bear good fruit.

Hold on.  Hold fast!   Do not let the winds blow and stir up your good soil.  You are sealed, and God is the Trustworthy Gardener.  He is the one who brings forth good things in season.  We may first have to be saturated in the rains before the seed breaks open and we see fruit come forth.

Wait.  Wait patiently.  Rest.   Trust.   Yield.

Think of this, when Jesus was calling His disciples to follow Him, one of them said, “Let me first go and …”  That man wanted to tidy things up in his life before trusting God.  We must listen to what Jesus says to that man…

Jesus replied, “No one who puts his hand to the plow and looks back is fit for service in the kingdom of God.”  Luke 9:62

Do you hear that?  No good farmer continues to turn back as he is tilling the soil, dropping seeds…He continues ahead, with full assurance that his labor will not be in vain!  Your labor.  Your pain, is not in vain, friend.  Trust it to the Good Gardener!

Are we willing to walk by faith in the face of untidy circumstances, and completely trust that though there is nothing yet we can see to assure us, we can still trust that God is going to work all things together for good?  Friends!  He’s telling us to trust Him!  That’s what “faith” is… Belief in action.  We must live like we believe that He’s already gained the victory!

We must walk by faith not by sight!  2 Corinthians 5:7

There is a day, coming soon, when you will strengthen the others, and the fruit of your pain will burst forth!  Meditate on these promises whenever you are seized by doubts:

The One who calls you is faithful and He will do it!  1 Thessalonians 5:24

He is able to do exceedingly, abundantly more than all we can ask, imagine, or think, according to the power that works in us!  Ephesians 3:20

I love that this last verse was written by our dear brother Peter – the one who repented and could now strengthen the others…just as Christ had promised:

And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast.  To him be the power for ever and ever. Amen. 1 Peter 5:10

About DeDe Gibbs

I desire to live fully animated and motivated by the Holy Spirit - as I run so as to win the prize that lasts! My hope is that others can relate to the things I share, and they would find encouragement here. I would love to hear from you. Leave a comment or email me at: dedegibbs@gmail.com. On your marks. Get set! GO!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a comment or email me at dedegibbs@gmail.com.