Go to the Light

You walk into a dark room.  You want to enter in, but you can’t see what is around you.  You fear you might stumble.  What do you do?

You flip the switch.

You know there is a switch nearby.  You also know it is connected to a power source.  You firmly believe that if you flip that switch, the room will be transformed.  So you reach out your hand, and you flip the switch.

And Then There Was Light

You believe.  You act.  Transformation comes.  And you enter in.  Simple.

This, my friends, is a picture of what it is to enter into faith.  Our lives which seem dark and scary, hopeless and impassable, can suddenly become illuminated and traversable, full of glory, hope and light.

It starts with a belief.  It requires acting on that belief.  It depends on a power you cannot see but that you know exists and is reliable.  Once you flip that switch, everything changes for you.  You can move ahead with boldness and courage.  You can see things you did not see.  You can know things you did not know.  You can do things you could not otherwise do.  Go to the light!

I know many people who struggle to enter into the light.  I know many who have spent years struggling with defeat and hopelessness.  I’ve endured years of this myself.  I have wondered how to come to have a life that really counted for something.  I wanted to know real joy and to bring joy to others, but I had no idea how to do so.  I battled with depression and struggled to find a steady path.

It’s funny that when people have shared “near-death experiences,” they say they came into a long tunnel and at the end was a bright light.  This is where we get the phrase, “Go to the light!”  We know that where there is light, there is life.

It’s true of our nature.  Without light, no life could exist on earth.  Spiritual realities are reflected in natural realities…even the Bible tells us so:

For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities–his eternal power and divine nature–have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that people are without excuse.  Romans 1:20

Today, my challenge for you is to run to the light.  If we truly believe there is a power that we can connect to, through faith in Christ, that will bring light and life, then we simply need to reach out our hand so as to flip the switch; connect with the power that gives life to the world – the very power that brought Jesus back from the dead – and be transformed.

Go to the light!

When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”   John 8:12

Run to the light!  Believe.  Act.  Enter in…and live!

About DeDe Gibbs

I desire to live fully animated and motivated by the Holy Spirit - as I run so as to win the prize that lasts! My hope is that others can relate to the things I share, and they would find encouragement here. I would love to hear from you. Leave a comment or email me at: dedegibbs@gmail.com. On your marks. Get set! GO!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a comment or email me at dedegibbs@gmail.com.