Cracks

IMG_20130701_122538I was sitting on the patio this morning, reading “The Christian’s Secret of a Happy Life” by Hannah Whitall Smith.  This is one book that I recommend to all Christians.  It has been the most helpful to me – next to the Bible itself – in showing me how to live the life of faith.

As I was reading about “Difficulties with Temptation,” I looked up and noticed some weeds breaking through the cracks in between the stones at my feet.  It struck me that this is how trouble comes to every Christian.  We have cracks.

CRACKS!

When we come to faith in Christ, we essentially enter in to a battle.  Many think that once they commit to Christ, the battle is over.  This is not true.  The war has just begun.  As is often said, “If the enemy is not on your back, it is because he does not see you as a threat.”

This is true of sport – and of faith.  The closer we are to “the goal,” the greater the resistance of our opponent.

Are you pressing on toward the goal toward which Christ has called you?  If so, you likely have faced some challenges.   I know that I have.  In fact, the more I pressed in and pressed on, the greater the challenges have become.  Any cracks that remained in my “armor,” have been exposed. (And as with all of us, my armor will be perfected on the Day of the Lord.  I am sure there are more areas in which God will yet refine me.  But I need not fear the arrows that fly by day!)

It is God…

But here is a word of comfort and encouragement:

For it is God who works to will and to do according to His good purposes.  Philippians 2:13

This is a verse I have memorized.  It’s one I think of often.  It helps me to see that even the most difficult things I have endured were placed in my life by the Almighty Hand of My Faithful and Loving God.

Yesterday, at church, the sermon was on Jonah.  The message struck me very personally.  I had revelations, as the Scripture was read, that hit some very deep places in my heart.  These words struck me powerfully:

The Lord God appointed a plant, and it grew up over Jonah to be a shade over his head to deliver him from his discomfort. And Jonah was extremely happy about the plant.  But God appointed a worm when dawn came the next day and it attacked the plant and it withered.  When the sun came up God appointed a scorching east wind, and the sun beat down on Jonah’s head so that he became faint and begged with all his soul to die, saying, “Death is better to me than life.”  Jonah 4:6-8

God appointed both comfort and trouble for Jonah…

God has appointed both joys and strains for me.  I can trust that everything that has come into my life – both blessing and hardship – have come directly from the appointments of God.

Plants – weeds – worms – winds…all come from God.  The difficult, even relentless, storms of trouble – they are gifts from the Lord.

Gifts!

I can now call them that because I see the great good that has come from enduring various trials.  I can see what God did in my heart to strengthen me through the valley of the shadow of death.  I am grateful.

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.  Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.   James 1:2-4

Cracks in my armor have been sealed up.  One by one, the crevaces of pride, insecurity, doubt, and fear…have been exposed, and God has shown me my need to allow Him to seal up those weak places in my armor.  He has demonstrated for me that apart from Him, I have no good thing, and so I can trust Him. (Psalm 16:2)

About DeDe Gibbs

I desire to live fully animated and motivated by the Holy Spirit - as I run so as to win the prize that lasts! My hope is that others can relate to the things I share, and they would find encouragement here. I would love to hear from you. Leave a comment or email me at: dedegibbs@gmail.com. On your marks. Get set! GO!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a comment or email me at dedegibbs@gmail.com.