Storms of Life

Lord, thank you for the storms, the rain

The heartache, Lord, and for the pain

I trust you, Lord. I call your name

In every storm, I’m not the same

In every dreadful, hurtful place

I come to better see your face

In every pit of deep despair

I find You always, ever, there

You bless me, Lord, each time I fall

I look to you, and when I call

You come to me, and bring me peace

My hope renewed, my worries cease

Lord, you are precious, rare and true

There’s nothing I desire, but You!

God thank you for the storms of life

I thank you that I’ve faced such strife

For in each battle, you’ve blessed me

You gave me eyes, so I could see

The wonders of Your tender love

This comfort that comes from above

I praise you for your Spirit’s peace

Oh Lord, your mercies never cease!

Lord, help me endure every blow

of wind and strife–cause me to know

The loving-kindness that You give

Makes me know better how to live

And in each passing season, Lord

Help me to hold on to Your Word.

Your precious promises are real

It does not matter how I feel

The facts are where my faith is made

It is Your Truth freshly displayed

I simply nourish soul and mind

Then renewed peace and hope I find

Oh Lord, I place my trust in You

Because Your promises are true

The struggle that I face today

Shall cause me to kneel down and pray

I’ll cry to You, O Lord, once more

My peace, O God, you shall restore

And when these clouds have passed away

I’m guaranteed a brighter day!

Beyond each storm you bring new life

I ought not fall to fear or strife.

I simply place all hope in You

There’s fruit when skies again are blue

I trust You, Lord. Let me not fear

Your work in me is ever clear

You’ve let these rains fall on me now

To grow me, Lord, to show me how

To seek You more, to draw me, Lord

I’m desperate, now, for Your sweet Word

As I endure these painful days Lord,

I walk now, Lord, in ceaseless praise

You are my Rock, my Refuge, too

There’s nothing more I need, but You!

You’ve come to be My Lord and King

Your tender mercies make me sing

And so when, next, I feel afraid

When trouble comes; my nerves get frayed

I’ll look to You again, and know

The blessings you’re eager to show

I’ll trust that in the offering

I’ll find a new song, and I’ll sing

Of your amazing love and grace

Oh, Lord, I simply seek your face

Beauty from ashes; fruit from rain

In You, I am made new again

This life brings hardship, this is true

But every trial draws me to you!

Revised, 2013

About DeDe Gibbs

I desire to live fully animated and motivated by the Holy Spirit - as I run so as to win the prize that lasts! My hope is that others can relate to the things I share, and they would find encouragement here. I would love to hear from you. Leave a comment or email me at: dedegibbs@gmail.com. On your marks. Get set! GO!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a comment or email me at dedegibbs@gmail.com.