What Do You Know

My junior high best friend and I used to play a lot of silly games with words.  One of them had to do with inflection.  We’d say a sentence over and over, changing the inflection on different words.

What do you know?  What do you know?  What do you know?  What do you know!  

Depending on which word we emphasized, we could change the whole meaning of our sentence.  Such fun!  (Okay, we lived in a small town and there wasn’t much else to do.)

I was thinking of this today when the thought, What do YOU know, DeDe? came to my mind.  Sometimes, after I post something on here, that accusing voice comes creeping in saying things that might diminish my confidence.  I’ve learned not to let those thoughts go far anymore.  They used to be able to take me right down the road to depression.  But I am on to them now.

Call me strange if you want.

Or, maybe, you can relate?  You make an attempt to do something a little daring – to follow a dream – and as soon as you take that first step of faith, you start thinking negative thoughts.  The Discourager comes to mess with your head and to keep you from venturing too far down that path to success.

Do you know what I mean?

Above all else, guard your heart,
for everything you do flows from it.  
Proverbs 4:23

We have to learn to guard our hearts and minds.  I just saw a fun little acronym for this.

GYM – Guard Your Mind

Yes!  Go to the GYM, folks!  Get fit now!  Be wise.  Guard your mind.

Guard your mind!  Guard your mind!  Guard your mind!

This is essential to peace.

For as he thinks in his heart, so is he.  Proverbs 23:7

Just want to encourage you today.  Do not entertain the Discourager.  Do not welcome the Doubter into the livingroom of your heart!  Do not even let those thoughts enter the door of your mind.  If the thought is anxious, it is not from God.  Reject it.  Shut the door!

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything – pray!  And the peace of God which surpasses all understanding (is better than your having everything figured out) will guard your heart and mind.  Philippians 4:6-7

Trusting God brings courage.  Be courageous.  Fear not, for He is with you always.

And have a great day!

Mark. Set. Go!

About DeDe Gibbs

I desire to live fully animated and motivated by the Holy Spirit - as I run so as to win the prize that lasts! My hope is that others can relate to the things I share, and they would find encouragement here. I would love to hear from you. Leave a comment or email me at: dedegibbs@gmail.com. On your marks. Get set! GO!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a comment or email me at dedegibbs@gmail.com.